advocacy awards

JNCL-NCLIS strives to recognize excellence, dedication and life-time leadership throughout the Language Enterprise through the following awards.

All members are encouraged to participate in the awards process by submitting their nominations below.

NOTE: Application Deadline for ALL 2021 Awards:

COB Friday, September 25, 2020

The J. David Edwards


The J. David Edwards Power of Advocacy Award is an annual award presented at Language Advocacy Day to an outstanding language advocate who has demonstrated commitment and resilience in grassroots awareness, action and engagement. 


2020: Toni Theisen

2019: Linda Markley, FFLA

The Rush D. Holt

Language Service to the Nation Award

The Rush D. Holt Award for Language Service to the Nation is an annual honor bestowed during Language Advocacy Day for exceptional public service in advancing the national interest through language and international education, research and development, and practice.


2020: Representative Jim Langevin (RI-02)

2019: Representative Tom Cole (OK-4)

The James E. Alatis 

Founder’s Award

Named for the late Dr. James E. Alatis, a founding member of the JNCL-NCLIS, the James E. Alatis Founder’s Award is bestowed on an occasional basis during Language Advocacy Day to honor exceptional and life-long contributions to the advancement of language and international education, research and development and practice.


2020: Christine Schulze, Concordia Language Villages

2019: Marty G. Abbott, ACTFL